This is where the title goes…

Instead of gracing all of you with my put-on-the-spot introduction response of >”Uh, hi, errr, uh. inaudible squeaks.  mumbling.” finished off by a big smile.  Ta-da!<  I’ve decided to do a good and proper introduction.  Hi!  My name is Sarah and I’m an… wait.  Wrong introduction.

south

I hail from south Mississippi.  There’s probably a lot of emotions surrounding that very sentence depending on who just read it.  Anything from “Ugh!” to “Yay!” to “…Where?”; and all of that is O.K.  So, what does it mean to be me from here?  Well, you’re in luck!  I will tell you.

People in the south generally refer to items by a brand name.  Example: All soft drinks are referred to as Coke, regardless of whether it actually is a type of cola, or whether it was made by the Coca Cola Corporation.  The only name branding that I actually use are Q-Tip, Kleenex, Ziplock, and Chapstick.

Southern people have a lot of sayings.  A lot of phrases they use instead of just saying it in plain English.  It’s colourful.  Think Blanche Devereaux and her colloquialism of, “I’m jumpier than a virgin at a prison rodeo”, just, well, not that one exactly.  We have one’s like “He’s happier than a dead pig in sunshine”, “Either Fish or Cut Bait”, and “Bump On A Log”.  I understand them, but I only, personally, use a few:

  • Y’all (referring to a small group)
  • All Y’all (referring to a larger group)
  • A Messa (as in a messa cornbread; as in a lot of)
  • Fixin’ Ta (as in I’m fixin’ ta go to the store; as in about to, in a minute)
  • Neck of the Woods (as in an area where one lives and knows well)
  • Stompin’ Grounds (as in an area where one knows well, not necessarily having lived there before)
  • Round These Parts (as in around here)
  • Hows Your Momma ‘En Nem? (as in your family; how are they doing?)
  • He Could Core An Apple Through A Picket Fence (as in wonky or buck teeth)
  • Shindig (as in a party or gathering)
  • Do-hickey (as in some tchochke or bauble you don’t know the name of, or what it’s used for)

I, along with most other southerners, also tell you how to get somewhere by using time, landmarks, and relative directions.  Example: “It’s not far at all!  Maybe five minutes.  Go up that road right there, take the right fork in the road, past the school, take a left, keep going, past the supermarket and the curb store and the cemetery, take a right, keep going, past the big tree that looks like Jesus and it’s across the street from the used car lot.  If you see the man selling watermelons out of his truck, you’ve gone too far.”

There are also things that I do or say that simply baffle the minds of fellow southerners.

  • Soda, Soft Drink (instead of coke)
  • Take Away (instead of to-go box, or placing an order ‘to-go’)
  • Unsweetened iced tea with lemon (instead of sweet iced tea)
  • Not being bundled up for an Arctic expedition when it’s in the 50s or 60s.
  • Not having a southern enough sounding accent; which renders questions of where I’m from, and astonished looks when the answer is “here.”

I’ve lived my entire life in the same town, but had family in Louisiana and Arkansas.  We also spent a lot of time in New Orleans and on the Mississippi Gulf Coast while I was growing up.  All of that helped influence who I am today, as well as what I write about, photograph, or illustrate.

Sisters

My sister and I are best friends.  When we were kids, I was the tiny one, now she is.  See?  Anyway…  we also live together with our parents in The Big Blue House.  It’s more like living with flat mates.  My sister has the entire attic space to herself.  I occupy two rooms on the second floor.  My parents bedroom is on the second floor, but they mainly occupy the first level.  We have two dogs, one fish, and eight cats among us.  Mika is my favourite dog.  She stays outside and owns my sister.  The fish is a Beta named Fish.  He’s my fish who acts like a puppy.  I adore all the cats, as I’m a huge cat fan, but I have two cats that own me; Scully and Poe.

But back to my sister, yes this is important as it also pertains to myself; she is an artist.  Well, we both are.  She is mainly painting while I am mainly illustrations, and we both like photography.  She started the art collaborative, PoppyART, of which I am a member.  We sell both of our art together on Etsy, as PoppyART and sometimes team up to do collaborative pieces.  Collectively we are known as The Bright Fame Sisters, which is in reference to our name meaning.

Self Portrait

Now onto the things I like portion of the show, because what would an introduction be without things that I like!?

Nature/Weather:

  • Mountains
  • Snow
  • Rain
  • Thunderstorms
  • Forests
  • Trees
  • Fungi

Food/Drinks:

  • Dark brew coffee
  • Espresso based drinks
  • Ice water
  • Cherry ICEE
  • Floured French Fries
  • Sausage
  • Flammkuchen
  • Spaetzle
  • Cupcakes
  • Oven Toasted Bread

Holidays:

  • Christmas
  • Halloween
  • Dia de los Muertas
  • Friday the 13th
  • Ides of March
  • Memorial Day
  • Happy Removal Day (Birthday, only I was removed)
  • Martin Luther King Jr. Day

Animals:

  • Cats (All cats)
  • Penguins
  • Owls
  • Crows
  • Beavers
  • Raccoons
  • Foxes
  • Alligators
  • Hippos
  • Wombats
  • Rodents
  • Bunnies

Music:

  • Opera
  • Jazz (not freeform)
  • Classical
  • Blues (old school, original)
  • Cultural music (Arabic, Hindi, Finnish, etc)
  • Classic Rock
  • 80s
  • Swing
  • Big Band

Books:

  • Sci-Fi
  • Fantasy
  • History
  • Teen
  • Historical Fiction
  • Paranormal
  • Odd Science

Films:

  • Sci-Fi
  • Fantasy
  • Historical based
  • Comedy
  • Animated
  • Classics

Hobbies:

  • Stamp Collecting
  • Photography
  • Collaging
  • Hand sewing
  • Reading
  • Music
Leave a Reply

