First Love

I participate in a daily photo challenge, and tomorrow… well, today’s prompt is First Love.  Obviously that would be cats, but since I post an exuberant amount of cat photo’s through Instagram, I decided to go with celebrity crush.  But then, who would that be exactly?  My memories basically go back to age three and four, but things are a bit muddled.  I remember all the guys I thought were so pretty, but I have no idea which one was the top contender, so to speak.

So, I decided to travel along my celebrity love path.  It’s quite surprising, and also rather odd.

James-Mason-Captain-Nemo
James Mason as Captain Nemo; 20.000 Leagues Under The Sea.

So, it’s not difficult to see why I was completely smitten with Captain Nemo as a four year old.  Is it?  Is this uncommon?  He’s a man with a plan and a passion, to free people from enslavement; to eradicate war.  Not that one can tell from the photo, but his skin is dark and he’s greying at the temples.  He has a glorious beard and he’s dark and brooding.  He still makes me a little light-headed to this day.

Sir Laurence Olivier
Sir Laurence Olivier

You can see a theme here, can’t you?  I was watching a lot of telly as a child.  There was a lot of older programming and black and white films on back then.  Sir Laurence Olivier was a superb actor; not to mention he’s beautiful in this time of life and god, that accent.  Which I forgot to say, but James Mason’s accent was also a factor in my ability to swoon.  The film I saw quite often was Alfred Hitchcock’s, Rebecca.  He was good looking in Wuthering Heights, but I can not stand the “love” relationship between Heathcliff and Cathy, so I’m actually rolling my eyes at my mention of that one.

Orson Welles as Edward Rochester; Jane Eyre
Orson Welles as Edward Rochester; Jane Eyre

He’s arrogant and brash, commanding and forceful.  He’s really not the type of guy a four year old should find endearing, yet this one did just that.  I liked his accent, because it wasn’t very American, though he was.  I think I liked that he was haunted, as well as beautiful.  I dreamed I could tame him just as well as Jane Eyre.

Guy Williams as Don Diego de la Vega/Zorro; Zorro
Guy Williams as Don Diego de la Vega/Zorro; Zorro

Don Diego de la Vega/Zorro as portrayed by Guy Williams is the first in this list so far that is definitely a contender for very first celebrity love.  I absolutely ADORED this show.  It was one of my top favourites.  Though Williams was American, and of Italian descent, he was every bit a Spaniard to my under-educated four year old self.  Don Diego was so nice and charming; quite dashing with words like hacienda and such.  Well educated and very posh.  Zorro, however, charged into the night with reckless abandon to save everyone from the terror of the wealthy land owners.  He was the Spanish-in-the-new-world Robin Hood and it made my young heart turn flips.

Yul Brynner
Yul Brynner

As a child the only two films I ever saw Yul Brynner in were The King and I and secondly, The Magnificent Seven, but it was enough to earn him a spot on my list.  As the king of Siam, I saw a parallel between him and Edward Rochester.  Men with a huge presence, who want what they want right that second, with a woman who can tame them, so to speak.  Apparently that was a theme with me, somewhat?  He was so un-American it was fantastic; the accent, the look, the demeanor.  As you can tell, I was wanting something I couldn’t easily obtain, besides the celebrity part, I was drawn mainly to non-Americans.  It still rings true today.

Sir Sean Connery
Sir Sean Connery

Holy hell, Batman!  Searching for a photo of him tonight, this one made me grin like a foolish school girl.  He’s the fourth darker man on this list (as in not pasty white), as well as dark hair.  My four year old self had excellent taste in men!  He’s so beautiful and this is what he looked like when I first saw him in Darby O’Gill and The Little People.  Probably a film he might wish was not in his repertoire.  Tall, dark, handsome and that accent.  He has a fantastically awesome accent.  Yesh minny penny.  I couldn’t resist.  Moving on!

Ricky Nelson
Ricky Nelson

Reruns of The Ozzy & Harriet show is how I was introduced to Ricky Nelson.  I was a pretty intelligent kid, but I also had little street smarts, so to speak.  I just blindly accepted things and didn’t really think them through.  If it was on the telly it was happening right then, in that moment.  The network just happened to play the reruns perfectly, starting when he was young and time would pass, they bring it back on and he’d be older and it seemed to fit.  I also didn’t really understand time/aging yet.  Everyone who was older than me was old.  So, six months from a child older than me to a teenager seemed legit.  This seemed to happen quite a bit, so I just didn’t think too much about it or reason that these were old shows, etc.

One time when I was ill, I woke up in the middle of the night and began to watch the telly and I was still in that it’s happening right now mind-set.  What they were really playing was a Let’s Remember Rick segment, of course since he had died in 1985.  But I thought the news was telling me that he had just died in a plane crash.  I was devastated.  My dad came downstairs to get me back to bed and didn’t understand why I was so upset.  “Ricky Nelson is DEAD!”  “Yeah, I know.”  “NO!  You don’t know!  It just happened.”  “No, I know… hang on… how do you know who Ricky Nelson is?”  through sobs I exclaimed, “Dad!”  then just kept crying.  No one at school even knew who Ricky Nelson was.  I was alone in my too late grief.

There was a meme that went around after Davy Jones passed away.  It was funny and terrible all at the same time.  I can’t find it, but this was the photo.

marsha-brady-sobbing
Yep… that was me when Ricky Nelson died.    Strangely, he is not a contender for the very first celebrity love, though he was my first celebrity love death.

Dean Jones as Zeke Kelso; That Darn Cat!
Dean Jones as Zeke Kelso; That Darn Cat!

I’m seeing a pattern here.  He’s basically the same as James Mason, Guy Williams, and Sean Connery.  I liked Dean Jones in all of the Disney films from the 60’s and early 70’s, but this character was my particular favourite.  He may have been allergic to cats, but I simply decided to ignore that fact.  He was positively adorkable and he may have been American, but he had a very nice tone and pitch to his voice.

David Cassidy
David Cassidy as Keith Partridge; The Partridge Family

I’m not really certain what I was thinking when I was younger.  I had a huge crush on Keith Partridge, but searching for photo’s tonight, most of his photo’s are really ridiculously cheesy, which I’m sure were on par for the era; but he also seems very girlish.  And when the photo’s weren’t so squeaky clean that he might squeeze rainbows and unicorns from his teeth, they were just beyond unimpressive.  He seemed like the worst kind of guy; an arrogant jerk, who might just only love himself and would certainly berate his girlfriend or something else horrid.

William Shatner as Captain James T. Kirk; Star Trek
William Shatner as Captain James T. Kirk; Star Trek

Everyone makes fun of him but he is definitely one of my first major loves.  I didn’t realize he was a weird actor or that his character was a hautey womanizer.  He was handsome, dashing, and fun and when I fell, I fell hard for this one.  I still hold a soft spot in my heart for this character and still have a bit of a crush on William Shatner, though it’s a different kind of crush, more of an endearing crush because I just find him so inexplicably awesome.

Harrison Ford as Indiana Jones; Indiana Jones and The Raiders of The Lost Ark
Harrison Ford as Indiana Jones; Indiana Jones and The Raiders of The Lost Ark

Indiana Jones.  Oh god, what is there not to like about Indiana Jones?!  He’s dark and handsome, intelligent and rugged, quirky and fun, he gets to travel the world and fight Nazi’s.  He’s passionate.  He gets into all sorts of scrapes, but always manages to get the upper hand.  And it’s weird, but I really like his hands/fingers.  They way, oh it’s hard to explain, but how unusually they bend, how he uses them to point, or puts two fingers together.  It’s a thing of his, every role, his hands aren’t like other people’s.  Apparently it’s something I’m into, at least with Indiana Jones.  He is definitely in the top contenders list.

So, my final conclusion is a three way tie between Don Diego de la Vega/Zorro, Captain James T. Kirk, and Indiana Jones.  They were definitely firsts and were greatly admired by my child self.  But which one is the ruling king of my four year old heart?  Which one was my very first love?  Suppose I just break them down.

Guy Williams I only know from Zorro.  I watched the show religiously when I was younger, any time they played it, even if I’d seen that particular epi five times already, I’d re-watch it.  When they brought it back again in my early 20’s, I’d cancel anything I had going on just to watch it.  When we were at a yard sale recently I squealed with girlish delight to find a Disney Zorro book and frightened my dad by A) knowing about the Disney Zorro (seriously people, they are called re-runs!) and B) squealing like a school girl and C) by pointedly proclaiming, “I’m GETTING this book!”

My love of Shatner Kirk is so overly obvious that people from here to China know about it.  That scene in The Sound of Music where Maria is twirling around in the mountains exclaiming through song?  Yeah, that is basically me about Captain Kirk… to this day.  The meme I used for Kirk, a friend put on my FB wall stating, “I KNEW you would love this.”  And she was right.  Why was she right?  Because I’m overly obvious in my love for Captain Kirk.  That love has spilled over into a love for William Shatner himself; Kirk vs Gorn commercial, The Price-line Negotiator, the Deep Fried Turkey State Farm commercial, his stint on the telly show Psych, his WoW commercials, etc.

Indiana Jones?  Well, he’s pretty much just perfect.  Harrison Ford?  Sure, he’s cool and all.  Han Solo?  Yeah, he’s fine enough… but Indiana Jones I think owns my heart.  It’s a difficult tie, but I think if I have to choose, which I kind of do, I would proclaim Indiana Jones the ultimate ruling champion and winner of my heart.  It’s a celebrity love that has never faltered.  There has never been a time I’ve not been in love with him.  I have watched the films so much I have memorized them.  And when The Last Crusade was in the theatres I saw it five times.  I do not see movies multiple times in the theatre, and if I do, it’s on a whim or because someone else is paying for it and that’s only one other time.  Five times is an unprecedented number, especially since my parents were giving my nine year old self money that many times to see the same movie.  Since I was too young to watch the first film in theatres, when they brought it back a few years ago, I drove two hours to a theatre that was showing it.  I do not drive to see films.  Ever.  In any theoretical so and so vs so and so game, I always back Indiana Jones.  Always.  I won’t hear it any other way that someone else could beat Indiana Jones.

Seems like we have a clear winner here people.  Indiana Jones for the win, apparently.  Huzzah!  Stay tuned next time for the exciting continuation of Sarah’s Celebrity Love Showdown.  Ya know, because I’m on a theme here apparently.  But for now, I leave you with my first love…

6666_5

Leave a Reply

