Only In Your State – Mississippi Part II

Personal photography – Mississippi

This is a continuation of my thoughts on Only In Your State – Mississippi

15 Undeniable Things You’ll Find In Every Mississippi Home

01.  Yes and no.  I’d say mostly, from what I’ve observed, but really it’s just something handmade that’s been handed down.  Doesn’t necessarily have to be a quilt.  Though, I do admit that quilts are a big deal here.  My family has probably 20 quilts that were handed down.  But, they are yankee Ohioan quilts or Arkansas quilts, with one actually having been made in Mississippi, and it contains remnants from vintage bathing suits – it’s actually pretty cool.  Our family friends have Kentuckian quilts that were handed down.  Another friend of mine only has quilts her mother has made and continues to make.  And then I know a lot of people who don’t have quilts at all.

02.  Again, yes and no.  Just something handmade really, doesn’t necessarily have to be cross stitch.  No one I know has cross stitch things framed.  If they have something cross stitch related it’s a pillow that they themselves made.  We have tatting pieces made by my great-grandmother, who was an Arkansan.  And there’s a few petit point, which my Ohioan grandmother referred to as petite pois, and some other general stitchery needlecraft work.  I will say, most people will have some type of needlecraft or looping craft, etc that someone made.

03.  Mmm… I’m thinking no.  Out of all the people I know, including my family, or all of the places I have been in the state; an American flag is hard to find billowing from someone’s house.  As to what they have inside their homes, I can’t say, but at least on the outside, I’ve not really been witness to that.  There is an influx of American flags being displayed during the 4th of July, but the state isn’t swathed in it from what I can tell.

There are also people who will display the Confederate flag.  I’ve actually seen that more on people’s homes than I have the American one.  It’s mostly in really rural area’s, but still, it’s not as much as you would think or as much as this article would lead you to believe.

04.  I can see how this might be in the majority, as hunting is a big deal here.  But I don’t know anyone personally who owns a gun rack… or a gun safe or a gun cabinet for that matter.  We do have a gun rack, which is something my father built in his high school shop class, because that’s what they were building.  But it’s never displayed a gun.  It has sat around being unused, or else was used for pool sticks or fishing poles.  My father does own guns.  Hand guns and rifles, even though he’s not even big into hunting.  He just likes to go out to the land, read his sci-fi books in the quiet morning and watch the deer as they mosey their way around the field.  But basically, I don’t know one way or another if this particular point is true of the majority of the state.  It seems plausible, but then I don’t know it to be true among anyone that I know personally, which are people scattered all over the state.

05.  I thank ALL THE GODS that I don’t know a single solitary person who has animal parts hanging in their homes.  Hunting, to me is one thing, though I don’t participate in that myself.  But having deer heads or deer behinds or taxidermied animals (or fish) in one’s home is gross to me.  Besides being gross, it is a waste.  If you don’t hunt during primitive season, which is when you can use bows and arrows, you hunt with guns.  If you want to actually eat the meat of the kill, you shoot the animal in the head, so the buck shot won’t get into all the meat.  Otherwise, if you only want the head, you shoot it in the body and all you’re left with is the head as you’ve wasted the meat.  Beyond ridiculous to me.  But it does happen.  I know that it happens.  But if it’s the majority, I couldn’t tell you.

I will admit that several places you can go to have taxidermied animals or mounted somethings on walls.  Generally a hunting and fishing store, but lots of times they are places where you eat.  It would be a little different if said place was actually serving deer, or rabbit, or raccoon, but they’re not.  They’re serving fried seafood and catfish, or fried chicken and other southern fixin’s on a buffet.  Huh?!

06.  Eh… that’s iffy.  Most people’s houses that I enter simply smell like that families personal smell.  It’s only if they’ve just baked, fried, or cooked something that it might smell like that.  Usually though it smells like weird cafeteria food when their cooking/or have just finished cooking.  I’ve not been to many people’s houses where it smells like amazingly delicious food.

07.  This one I can sort of get behind.  Most people who I know or encounter have some sort of seating out-of-doors.  Even driving around just seeing houses in different parts of the state.  If there’s not the quintessential porch swing or rocking chairs, I generally do notice outside seating.  We don’t have a porch, we have a tiny stoop on our very New England salt-box house.  But, we have seating in the yard on the side, on the back deck, and in the back yard.

08.  I can agree with this one too.  I can’t say for certain in the mid and northern parts of the state, because when I visit it’s generally lovely weather and mosquito free.  But around here, for probably nine months of the year, it’s buggy.  If the weather is tolerable, most people will be outside, somehow; either in their own yards or out and about at a park or something.  When the bugs are at their worst citronella candles and bug spray are your friends.

09.  I think this only applies to the southern part of the state.  The people I know in the mid and northern regions don’t worry about hurricanes, and don’t have supplies stocked up for one.  But you can’t throw a stone without hitting someone, around here, who doesn’t understand the need to have hurricane supplies, or doesn’t have any type of supply.

10.  This one I notice to be relatively true of the majority.  Everyone seems to have ceiling fans, that they use, or else at least one standing fan, box fan, or table top fan.

11.  Flip flops, I know, are prevalent around here.  Half-way between my city and the capital of Jackson; east, west, and south.  Never noticed much flip flop wearing in Jackson or above, though I can’t say for certain the people in those regions don’t wear them.  I would think that this might be in the majority though.

12.  This one…  I don’t really know.  I would think probably yes, at least 50%, if not up to 85/90% of the population?  Just about everyone that I know has an old hand-me down family bible.  They may not use it, display it, or even be extremely religious, but it’ll come up in conversation that they have it.  Mainly the people I know keep it because it is old, or they loved their grandma or something.  We do have an old family bible… and it’s not even our blood relations.  Though the people who adopted my mom are as good as.  But, yeah, it’s all their ancestors and that’s a little weird.  We keep it simply because it’s old, and we have it shoved away in a drawer.

13.  I would say that this might be a majority thing.  From the people who I know personally, it seems to be split down the middle as to the people who do can and people who don’t.  Mainly the people who don’t, never worry with purchasing any canning supplies, much less these jars.  But canning supplies are pretty readily available everywhere and I think a lot of people can.  My Arkansas grandmother canned, and thus my dad and sister can.  Sadly, I’ve never canned yet, though I want to.  Even my former employee who grew up in Alabama learned how to can in high school with the required home-ec class.  She was in high school in the late forties.  A lot of people that I know don’t can at all, but then even if they only can one thing and it’s a small batch, or whether it’s a whole messa stuff from their gardens, it seems like Mississippians, for the most part, are canners.

14.  I’ll pretty much agree that perhaps the majority of the south is sweet iced tea crazy.  Not particularly from people I know personally, but it’s pretty common that eateries have sweet iced tea that they’re constantly having to make more of, or the people around you are ordering that and only that.  Plus, the fact that if the place has unsweetened, most of the time it tastes like old tomatoes because it’s been sitting there all day with no one touching it, so you rarely get fresh.  We are not a big tea family.  We’re more coffee and ice water drinkers.  My mother consumes hot tea, if the occasion for tea arises.  If my sister and I want tea, which is hardly ever, it’s unsweetened and iced.  Dad and his relatives, for the most part are not big tea drinkers, not even sweetened and iced.

15.  This one I can agree on as, not being EVERYONE as this girls articles always imply, but for a majority.  My family doesn’t have anything sports related in the house unless you count a croquet set or a pool table (which came with the house).  No sports team memorabilia, no sports teams on the telly, or sports score feeds on the internet.  We’re not big sporting people… at all.  But even people who I know who are only slightly interested in football, generally do have at least one thing college sports related… even if it’s simply their alma mater.  That’s most people I know.  They have one random thing… or nothing.  But if vehicles are any indication, most cars that I see display some sort of sports team logo.  And if Facebook news feeds are anything to go by, these people probably have at least one thing team related, if not a lot of things.

Leave a Reply

