Pee-Wee Forever

>>peewee.com

So, I’m a pretty huge Pee-Wee Herman fan.  Have been since I saw Pee-Wee’s Big Adventure when I was four.  Naturally, I was also ecstatic when Pee-Wee’s Playhouse started coming on the air.  I adored him from day one and I haven’t looked back since.

My dad and The Sister really like Big Adventure, but then they also really like Tim Burton.  But that’s as far as it goes for my dad really.  I have gotten my sister to watch the Christmas special, but I don’t think she really understands Pee-Wee.

I had my own premier party for Big Holiday and made The Sister participate in all of the fun, though she was interested in watching the film, when I asked her.  However, she didn’t really get it.  Oh, she laughed at parts, but I had to explain lots of other things to her.

 

Now, my mother detests everything Pee-Wee Herman.  (Boo, hiss!)  She went through a period during my childhood where she forbade me to watch certain telly shows, namely cartoons.  So, I was never allowed to watch He-Man, She-Ra, or Dungeons and Dragons.  She was always there, right when the show started.  At the moment I was thinking I would actually get to watch it, she was there turning the telly off.

But, the damage, so to speak, concerning Pee-Wee was done with Big Adventure, so when she started forbidding me to watch Playhouse, that was a battle she was never going to win, and she soon gave up.  Even though she still mocks me about liking Pee-Wee to this day.  Oh well, haters gonna hate, right?

Even when the entire fiasco happened that ended Playhouse, I defended him, though I wasn’t really certain what I was defending, as I was only eleven.  (Though now that I understand, I still like him)  My mom really hated Pee-Wee (and Reubens) at that point, but I wouldn’t stop watching Playhouse, and I wouldn’t turn my back on the most fantastic creative genius of this generation.

Of course I also really like Paul Reubens, aside from Pee-Wee, and will watch anything he’s in.  But my heart really belongs to Pee-Wee.

Now, that I’m an adult, I feel like Uncle Joey from Full House.  I always super dug that he was into Pee-Wee’s Playhouse… and he was an adult!  As, I’ve mentioned, I didn’t really know adults that liked Pee-Wee.  Though my maternal grandmother did keep a Life Magazine with Pee-Wee Herman on the cover.  She did keep things like that, magazines and newspapers, but not many.  I didn’t find it until after her death, so I couldn’t ask her, “Why, this one?”  But she was kind of zaney, so should possibly have thought the Pee-Wee was amusing.

Needless to say I enjoy finding like-minded Pee-Wee fans.  All of which includes two people.  An internet friend of mine from our Livejournal days; she even once sent me a Pee-Wee postcard!  And now this girl on the internet who I only found out about because Pee-Wee gave her a shout-out.  Instagram user @Nerdsquared was doing the most brilliant thing leading up to the premier of Pee-Wee’s Big Holiday.  She was photoshopping Pee-Wee into vintage postcards.  A gal after my own heart, I tell ya!  They are epic.  Go.  Go now!  Look at them.  Love them!

OK, now that you’re back.  They’re absolutely fantastic, aren’t they?

 

Things have not changed.  I own all episodes of Pee-Wee’s Playhouse, the Playhouse Christmas Special and Big Adventure… and yep, I watch them.  I’ve been part of his online fan club since he came back, internet-wise, in the late 2000’s.  I have also been waiting anxiously to see Big Holiday since he first announced it a few years ago.

So, what I’m getting at here is that I’m a big nerd.  But also Pee-Wee’s Big Holiday, his newest film that just came out on Netflix this past Friday.  As I said I had my own premier party for it.  There was no food, just me covered in Pee-Wee stuff.

OK, let me go back a little.  This past year, I asked for The Official Pee-Wee Herman Fun Book for my birthday.  No one in family was thrilled, but they actually got it for me!  This is important for several reasons.  I made The Sister play parts of this book for the premier.

We played with Magic Screen.

And the spinner game.

Oh, look readers!  I spun for y’all.  You get to make a wish… if Jambi can hear you!

The book also contained temporary tattoos.  The Sister wasn’t thrilled for me to put one on her, but she was getting a Pee-Wee tattoo for the premier.  Naturally she chose the one with the Playhouse style flowers.

Pee-Wee Forever & Only Pee-Wee Can Judge Me temp tattoos
That’s right! Only Pee-Wee CAN Judge Me… & The Sister made me laugh

The book also came with something called Silly Bands.  I didn’t know what they were until I received them.  Rubber bracelets in shapes.  And these were Pee-Wee shapes!  I gave a few to The Sister back when it was my birthday and told her that she was going to wear hers for the premier, because we were wearing them.  A family friend also gave me T-Shirt for that same birthday with an artists’ depiction of the night goggles scene from Big Adventure, so of course I wore it.

So, with everything on, there was nothing left to do but watch Pee-Wee’s Big Holiday.  I was so excited that I didn’t look at my mobile once while the film was on!

I’ll warn you now, thar be spoilers ahead, starting…………

NOW!

So, the intro scene.  I loved it, except I found the alien to be creepy.  But I liked the dream scene.

So, The Sister was excited twice in this film.  “He’s from True Blood!”  then later, “She’s also from True Blood!”  Honestly, I was Pee-Wee Herman in this film because I was like, “Who…?”  I have heard of True Blood, but only watched the first season.  I had no idea who these people were, but The Sister sure was excited.

Though I did think it was adorably awesome casting to have this Joe Megaladon guy be Pee-Wee’s best friend!  And it was funny that I could say, “Ooh, he’s playing himself!” after he announced his name, and turn to see The Sister make this face.  o_0  I only knew because I follow Pee-Wee on the internet and he had just congratulated this guy for being on the cover of a magazine.

Oh god, SO much humour.  All the fun.  Everything was great.  I honestly couldn’t tell you the last time I laughed so much in such a short span of time.  Nor the last time I made the I’m so happy face for long periods of time.  Oh, wait, never mind, it was only a few days before this film when Pee-Wee was on KCRW.  But as for something non Pee-Wee related, yeah, I have no idea.

Had to explain the Farmers Daughters joke to The Sister in between my laughter.  I also had to explain that Joe Megaladon and Pee-Wee are kids, which is why it’s funny.  You know they’re not, but also they are, so it’s endearing and hilarious at the same time.  All she could see were two men and thought they were going to make-out at one point.  That was difficult to explain.  But I could certainly assure her that Pee-Wee doesn’t make out with anyone.

Laughed so much when Pee-Wee finally used his disguise kit and during his musical genius with a balloon.  Was happy to see that Diane Salinger had a cameo.  Liked the bad 50’s bank robber girls and that one of them’s nick-name was Pee-Wee.  Right in the feels, y’all.

And end of spoilers………

 

NOW!

 

So, I want to watch it again!  I also want to own it so that I can watch it when ever I want.  Will this be something that happens?  Oh, I hope so!

Also came to find out that dad, all on his own, watched Big Holiday that same night… and enjoyed it.  Huzzah!

The Sister paused the film, so you get to see how EXCITED I was to be watching it!!!!

I can’t even really pin point exactly why I adore Pee-Wee Herman so much.  All I know is that it’s basic and pure and it makes me happy.  He’s like a warm blanket.  He makes me feel safe.  He’s just comforting.  Besides being hilarious.

I just love Pee-Wee and I always will!

Leave a Reply

