Retro Homes A-GoGo

I am a girl who is very fond of architecture.  I may not know the very proper names and terminology for some things, but it doesn’t mean I’m not going to hunt it down.  Besides seeing great architecture while out and about in my city, I also like to peruse sites that focus on retro architecture, such as Retro Renovation and No Pattern Required.

And when I find a home that I like, I ooh and ahh and then save it in my bookmarks so I can discuss it later in a post like right now.  There are a lot of homes that I like for various reasons, so this is just one of multiple posts I’ll be making on the subject.  We’ll do ten homes per post, shall we?  P.S.  Also, none of the photo’s are mine.  They all belong to their respective sites.

 

Let’s get started, yeah!

 

 

 

1953 | Kettering, Ohio

The entire house, overall, is quite appealing, but would you look at those main windows, all slanty-out like that?  I have never seen a house with that feature and I ADORE it!  I also really like all the stone work, because I live in a place where stone is rarely every used.  I also like the lattice-work windows.

Perhaps that fireplace is nothing to write home about for some, but I really like it as it reminds me of the fire-place in Pee-Wee’s Playhouse.  And that gorgeous back sun room.  All that stone, those windows, that gorgeous blue and the built-in planters.  All this is really why I would totally live in this house!

 

1962 | High Point, North Carolina

768714-5_thumb-horz

Now that is one fab entryway.  There’s not anything that I don’t love about this.  The split level, the style and the wood of the stair case, the flooring, the brick, all the windows, and that gorgeous lighting fixture.  I even really like the shade of brown that’s been used AND the wood paneling!  Crazy, right?

768714-10_thumb-horz

I like the disjointed look of the brick fireplace in the main living area and the built-in book cases.  I also am really digging the main bathrooms sink area, even if it does seem a tad small.  There’s nothing about that bathroom photo that I don’t love.  It’s a fine enough house, I suppose.  But really it’s these four photo’s that have me putting it on my list.

 

1963 | Tampa, Florida

T2750513_7_thumb-horz

Honestly, this one seems like a very Floridian summer vacation rental home.  I probably wouldn’t live here, but it is still very lovely.  I like all of the wood (and yes, in that shade), the flooring, and the white brick.  I do really like the fireplace area in the main living area as well as the doors and all of the windows on the back sun room.

 

1952 | Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin

ISxj5hbbd05x6i1000000000_thumb-horz

Holy moly, what a house!  But then it was built by Cary Caraway, who was an apprentice to Frank Lloyd Wright and well, I am a huge fan of Wrights’ work and things that reflect his idea’s.  That stone and golden wood are just sublime together.  And I love that herringbone tile floor paired with that gorgeous hued wood.  Just beautiful.

ISt4bs6squxz7i1000000000_thumb-horz

It comes with a very 1920s/1930s wealthy persons library?  That is just too much and absolutely wonderful!  And while I’m not digging the flooring tile exactly, I am really digging the green and blonde wood bathroom.  Very cool.

 

1963 | Clearwater, Florida

ISledy5s78en5q1000000000_thumb-horz

This is the second one so far where I’m really, really liking the exterior; shape and texture wise.  This house is also a Frank Lloyd Wright off-shoot, as it was built by one of his students.  Awesome.  I’m also digging all the wood in the home.  That is a really groovy kitchen.

ISphu8txli6aj00000000000_thumb-horz

I also really like this back sun room area with all the sliding glass doors and multiple entrances off of the house.  And this room.  I don’t even know what it is, except that it’s a few short stairs down from the main level and is completely fabulous!

 

1953 | Indianapolis, Indiana

25_21333594_01_5_thumb-horz

That is a really great looking facade.  The garage door, the windows and the brickwork.  Not that it’s my ideal kitchen, especially since I think that window is looking out into the living room, but I am really digging all of that wallpapering (this house has pretty cool wallpapering), plus the cabinetry is nice.  Plus I like the scalloping over the window and the shelves.

25_21333594_06_5_thumb-horz

Hello gorgeous wood!  The first is the dining room.  That is some gorgeous wood, and I really like the wood built-in shelving unit and cabinets.  Also that stone fireplace.  And that is the only bedroom that looks all poshy early 50s.  That is a nice room.

 

1962 | Chesaning, Michigan

599551_1_L_thumb-horz

I really like the exterior of this home.  The overhang with wood, the brickwork, the white, the wraparound windows.  The first interior shot in the original post, I don’t really understand and apparently they didn’t show any of the bathrooms in the sellers listing, but oh well.  Let’s look at the kitchen!  I love the wood, the pass-through and those glass cabinets.

599551_5_L_thumb-horz

As you might can tell, I really love this room!  I’ve selected both shots of it.  I love the windows, the curtains, the flooring, the wood, the brick fireplace (WITH that little section beside it where you can sit?  Or put something pretty?  with those windows.  Like a nice little nook), the wall colouring, the wood overhang around the room.  It’s just a lovely, lovely room all around.  Plus, I’m liking that back sun room too, but not as much as this room right here.

599551_8_L_thumb-horz

I am completely in love with whatever these two rooms are in the first photo.  I love the colour of the wood, all the windows and all of that avocado green!  The second photo, I would take down those shelves and take up that carpet and now I’m in love with this room as well; the big wide window, the green tile/slate flooring, that brick wall to the right and the dark wood paneling.

 

1962 | Savannah, Georgia

l41f11245-m15o_thumb-horz

This homes OK overall.  It’s not one I’d live in, but there’s some great things about it.  One is the outdoor area.  Look at that!  I could totally sit out there and hang out.  Also, the entrance is round.  So cool!

l41f11245-m6o_thumb-horz

It’s not a great kitchen, but what is?  The original oven and are those food warmers underneath?  Not sure, but they’re awesome, none-the-less.  The second photo, I really like this room for the window, the wood paneling, the built-ins and that really great curved stone wall.  How fun!

 

1957 | Madison, Wisconsin

SCWISCRESD172783211_thumb-horz

Holy wood, Batman!  This house is basically nothing but!  But, it’s so lovely.  Hrmm…  gee, I wonder why?  Oh, because it’s another Frank Lloyd Wright off-shoot!  This time by John Steinmann.  I actually really like the way the exterior of the home looks, but just look at all this wood!  I like the bookshelf room divider with planter underneath, and the well I’m not sure if those are lights or skylights, but either way, I can dig them.  And the use of cement for the fireplaces, as well as the green hearth for the one in the second photo.

SCWISCRESD172783215_thumb-horz

Yeah, I’d pretty much live in this house and not change a thing.  I love this pass through between rooms, on the other side of the kitchen, mainly for the windows and the built-in planters.  And look at that hallway-o-storage!  So fab with the line of square windows above it.

 

1951 | Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

e3397035_15_thumb-horz

I’m not a huge fan of this home, but there’s some likeable things about it.  Like that outside area.  I mean I like snow, but you can’t use it unless there is no snow, so, without the snow.  And Oh my good god!  Look at that kitchen!  Orange and chrome, very nice!  And I’m not sure if the house is just dark, or the photography wasn’t that good, or it’s because it’s a winter day, but yeah, I would hope it’s not really this dark and foreboding.

e3397035_10_thumb-horz

I really like the wood and windows for these two rooms.  Also the curtains in the first one.  And while I like foil wallpaper and lattice style windows, I’m not a fan of lattice foil wallpaper, nor the mirrors on the ceiling.  Heh.

 

That’s it!  Stay tuned for the next installment of Retro Homes A-GoGo!

Leave a Reply

