2016 in Media

I like to keep a tally on the media that I take in for a year.  I compile various lists.  New books read, books re-read, new films viewed, and new telly shows if I’ve watched all the season available to me.  It’s not a long list.  I always watch a lot of films, but I only add them to the list if they were enjoyable for one reason or another.  Again, it’ll be fun.  You’ll see!

readbooks

New Books:

That’s right.  I finished all of two books in 2016.  It was a dismal year for book reading.  I started quite a few books, but well, it doesn’t count unless I read them through.

 

rereadbooks

Books Re-Read:

I re-read all of the Harry Potter books and also re-read the first two Miss Peregrine books so that I could read the third one.

 

startedbooks

Unfinished Reads:

Because my reading list was so lacking, I compiled one for books started but not finished.  I’m please to announce that The Sisters Grimm, a new read, was knocked off the list on New Years Day, and The Unnaturalists, a re-read was knocked off the list last week.  Lady L., also a new read, should be knocked off in a few days.  There was another one, The Eyre Affair, but it was one that I just couldn’t finish and tossed into the Little Free Library donation stack.

 

telly

Telly:

My telly comes from Netflix, PBS, & Acorn (all three through Roku streaming).  We do not have cable, satellite, Amazon Prime, or Hulu.  So, I’m never on current seasons like people who have cable or satellite.

  • Halt & Catch Fire (2 seasons)
  • Expedition Unknown (1 season)
  • American Horror Story Hotel (I did not finish Coven by two or three epi’s and I did not watch Freak Show.  I’m not all into the overtly sexualized nature of the shows, but barring that, Hotel was my favourite so far & is the only one I watched in 2016)
  • Rosemary & Thyme (all)
  • Fuller House (2 seasons)
  • Stranger Things
  • How We Got To Now (educational show)
  • Gilmore Girls In The Life Of (I’ve never seen Gilmore Girls all the way through, though I did enjoy parts of the show I watched on the telly or streamed with The Sister.  Started watching it all the way though, but only got to season four – perhaps 5 – and took a break, so I didn’t finish that series in 2016)
  • Filthy Cities (educational show)
  • Once Upon a Time (5 seasons)

 

films1

Films (1/2):  I had to break the films down into two, rather large, groupings because as I said, I watch a lot of films.  This isn’t even all of them, it’s just the one’s which were interesting enough for at least a once through or ones which I adored.

  • Finding Dory
  • Crimson Peak (honestly Bobby Singer (from Supernatural – real name Jim Beaver) was the best part of that film, which is why I’ve included it)
  • Byzantium
  • Quick Change
  • Minions
  • Pee-Wee’s Big Holiday
  • Selma
  • Wild Hearts Can’t Be Broken (a re-watch, but I haven’t seen it in 23 years)
  • Free State of Jones (I didn’t love it, but it was interesting to watch and I even wrote a blog post about it here.)
  • I Am The Pretty Thing That Lives In The House

 

films2

Films (2/2):

  • The Book Thief
  • Backtrack
  • The Silenced
  • The Peanuts Movie
  • V for Vendetta
  • Ghostbusters
  • Temple Grandin
  • Para Eliza
  • Zootopia
  • Kung Fu Panda 3
Leave a Reply

