Earning Merit Badges – The Intro

The Sister gave me a book a few years ago entitled, You Can Do It!  The Merit Badge Handbook for Grown-Up Girls.  I really enjoyed Girl Scouts in my youth and earning merit badges, so it would seem right up my alley right?

Only, there were things in the book that I had done in my youth and had absolutely no interest in doing as an adult, so I shelved the book and avoided it.  Every so often I’d flip through it, get discouraged and re-shelve it.  Recently I decided to stop worrying over the word Adult.

Regardless of age, if I had met the full requirements set out in this book, then I was going to count it as done.  You know what?  That felt brilliant.  I was no longer worrying over never doing this book because I had no desire to take up dancing as an adult, or to learn to ride a horse all over again.

IMG_1368

 

It’s a pretty cute book, even though a tad outdated.  I’m not knocking it, I just received a Girl Scouts Senior book recently that’s extremely outdated and I want to work through that one.  But your badges are stickers that you can affix to the start page for that particular badge (which I’d done for ‘Get Well-Read’) and you sign your name and date a tag at the end of that badges section for when you’ve completed it.

Apparently I’ve very, very wordy.  I’ve already typed out just three of the badges I’ve earned and it’s entirely too long.  We’re getting multiple entries so you’re brains won’t melt and you can pick and choose which entries you wish to read.

 

badgescollage

So, I’ll be discussing the badges I’ve earned in the next few posts, and then badges I’ve almost earned or am currently working on in their own post later.

I’ll update here with easy links to each entry.

* Bust A Move – Dancing
* Take The Stage – Acting
* Sing Your Heart Out – Singing
* Take A (Really Good) Picture – Photography
* Go World Wide – Building A Website
* Bead It – Beading

Leave a comment